The Ancient and Accepted Scottish Rite for Azerbaijan

Who We Are

The Supreme Council for the 33° and last Degree for Azerbaijan of the Ancient and Accepted Scottish Rite was Consecrated on 8th July 2017, in Baku, Azerbaijan, based on the Protocol of Cooperation signed in 2010 by the Grand Master of the National Grand Lodge of Azerbaijan with the Supreme Council of Romania. Our Constitution is based on the principles of 1786 Grand Constitution and adapted from the Constitution of USA Southern Jurisdiction Mother Council of the world.

The Consecration of the Supreme Council for Azerbaijan were assisted by the following Five European Supreme Councils:

• Supreme Council for Romania
• Supreme Council for Turkey
• Supreme Council for Greece
• Supreme Council for Portugal
• Supreme Council for Russia

The Supreme Council, 33° Ancient and Accepted Scottish Rite for Azerbaijan is a full member of European conference of Supreme Councils.


Lodge of Perfection “Nizami” (4° – 14°)
Lodge-Chapter of Rose Croix “Zarathustra” (15° – 18°)
Lodge of Council of Kadosh “Mitra” (19° – 28°)
Lodge of Consistory “Nasimi” (29° – 32°)

History of Scottish Rite

The Ancient and Accepted Rite derives from the Rite of Perfection, which developed in France mainly in the quarter-century before September 1762. Its constitution, and the rituals for its twenty-five degrees, were formalised by Francken in a manuscript bearing that date, though probably written somewhat later. It was followed by The Grand Constitutions of 1786, dated May 1786, which describe the Ancient and Accepted Rite, consisting of thirty-three degrees, largely as it exists today. This document was presented as the product of a Council meeting under the titular direction of Frederick the Great. The original has not been found, and the copies seem to date from nearer to 1800.

In May 1801, in Charleston, the first Supreme Council following the Grand Constitutions was opened (now known as The Southern Jurisdiction of the USA). It was followed by France (1804), Spain (1811) and the Northern Masonic Jurisdiction of the USA (1813). Ireland (1826) was the sixth, England and Wales (1845) — receiving its Patent from the Northern Masonic Jurisdiction — was the eleventh and Scotland (1846) the twelfth. There are now independent Supreme Councils in over 60 countries.

Scottish Rite Creed

Human progress is our cause,

liberty of thought our supreme wish,

freedom of conscience our mission,

and the guarantee of equal rights to all people everywhere our ultimate goal.


The Scottish Rite known as the “College of Freemasonry” for its further Masonic Education of the 4°- 32° degrees. They are not advanced degrees beyond that of Master Mason in the Blue Lodge, instead, the Scottish Rite Freemasonry degrees are further education on the principals of the Blue Lodge.

Contact Us

We welcome you to contact us for more information